Sitting in my Freshmen chemistry workshop three years ago, a ray of light reflected off of my bezel, and blinded the row of people in front of me. Immediately, my friends had distracted the rest of the class with comments on my new gold watch. They had known of my affinity for this particular Michael Kors watch for some time. When it debuted that day its presence caused commotion. My peers were very impressed.

IMG_2134

Back then, a Michael Kors timepiece was not yet played out by the masses.  I had bought the model right before it was discontinued. Therefore, mine was somewhat of a limited edition.  As a result, it was empowering to have a $250 piece of (somewhat) exclusive jewelry, which I had bought myself, inhabiting my wrist. My friends’ impression was that I somehow had a lot of money to be able to afford it, especially as a freshman in college. Every time I wore  it I felt different, as if my peers had a newfound respect for me. Some adults and strangers who would compliment me spoke to me in a different tone, as if we were equals because this was a watch they wished they had.

I’m not surprised by the power of the gold watch–a timeless status symbol. Rappers, celebrities, business executives, and so many more cement their place in the upper echelon with a luxury watch such as Rolex, Hublot, etc. Despite the subsequent perception behind luxury watches, People’s impressions of my watch were inaccurately accurate. I wasn’t  wealthy or superior in any way, but I felt different. Although people psychologically associate watches such as mine with sophistication, luxury, wealth, and power, their impressions of me were wrong. The truth is: I afforded the watch through hard work and saving. It was most meaningful because I earned it.

Besides, my illustriousness was short-lived. Today, most people have a Michael Kors watch. The fact that my watch is a limited edition doesn’t even matter anymore due to the fact our culture is supersaturated with the Michael Kors brand. Nonetheless, I am proud of my watch since it was my first expensive purchase ever.

 

