As someone interested in fashion design, my sewing machine is one of the most important items I own.  My current sewing machine, a Bernina 1008, which I received as a gift for my 21st birthday, is the first professional sewing machine that I’ve owned. I grew up using my mother’s sewing machine, and then when I moved to college I bought myself the cheapest one I could find on Amazon.  When I got more serious about fashion design, I realized I needed a much better machine.  My new sewing machine is very professional and high-end – it is the same make and model that is used in most design schools and by many professional fashion designers. What makes the sewing machine so meaningful to me is that I know I will have it for the rest of my life and it will be there as I grow into a more skilled sewer and maybe even one day a designer.

photo copy 2

 

Although I don’t use the sewing machine publicly, I feel like it does give me some credibility in the design world.  I work in the fashion industry so whenever sewing machines get brought up in conversation with other designers, I think the fact that I own a Bernina makes me seem like more of a professional.  Since I’m so young, I want people in the fashion industry to take me seriously as a designer, and I think to a certain extent, owning a Bernina sewing machine does help do that. I don’t know if the impression the sewing machine gives off is completely accurate, since I still have a lot to learn and I wouldn’t necessarily consider myself a professional.  However, the intent of purchasing such a high-end sewing machine was to one day become a professional designer, so maybe owning this sewing machine doesn’t dictate to others my level of skill, but rather proves to others how serious I am about fashion design.

products_machines_classicseries_teaser_big_bernina1008

