I’m lucky enough to have a best friend surprise me with a Samsung NX1000 for my twenty-first birthday.  Finally legal, an amazing camera that could function literally as my brain during blurry nights, a visual sanctuary when I’m missing someone and a friend when I’m bored, this camera couldn’t have come at a better time; it was the perfect gift from the perfect person. There is something bittersweet about capturing fleeting moments that will never come back.  Coming into my senior year of college, I plan to use my camera as an object that represents my transition from a student into a real adult.

Image

 

    I can say that my semi-new camera is meaningful enough for me to lug it around almost everywhere I go even if it means a heavy, way over-stuffed pouch.  Not only is it a device with a purpose of capturing moments, but I also feel that it can blend into my wardrobe as a little accessory.  Because in the past I’ve only had black cameras, I like the white and thus clean appearance of this particular one.  The strap around it also makes it super convenient for me to wear it around my body without worrying for its safety.  I love having it with me but I have to admit that sometimes I feel like almost a tourist with the amount I take just walking around.  And I’m pretty positive that people think the same exact thing while trying to dodge me on the street when I suddenly halt with my camera help up in the air.  That is one perception people can have of me or they can think that I’m a photo major and working on a project.  Either way, the camera has become a part of my identity and who I am.  As I write this, I begin to realize how much meaning and emotion I have invested in this object.  If I were to lose it, I would be heart-broken and I think that’s a sign that this camera has really become apart of my story. 

 Image

